Texas A&M has 12 spots in Athlon’s 2022 preseason for the entire SEC football team

Athlon magazine released its 2022 preseason for all Southeastern Conference teams and 12 spots were filled by Texas A&M players. They understand the offensive guard layden robinsonsecurity Antonio Johnsonbettor Nik Constantinouand punt returner Ainias Smith (also a versatile back in the second team) on first unit, running back Devon Achane (also the kick return of the fourth unit) on the second unit, center Bryce Fosterdefensive lineman McKinleyJacksoncorner Tyreek Chappelland security Demani Richardson on the third unit, and offensive tackle Reuben Father on the fourth unit.

The all-conference team was led by 18 picks from Alabama, while Georgia (13), Texas A&M (12) and Tennessee (10) also had double-digit picks. LSU, Kentucky, Auburn and Mississippi State each had nine selections.

Robinson played well in his freshman year up front and Foster and Fatheree earned freshman All American honors. Johnson was ranked Pro Football Focus‘ top safety in the nation, Constantinou was the all-league punter according to the Associated Press, and Smith had a 95-yard punt return for a touchdown against South Carolina. Jackson was a part-time starter in 2021, Chappell was one of the best freshman corners in the nation, and Richardson is a three-year starter in the back of the Aggies defense.

Here are Athlon’s four conference units, including offense, defense and special teams.

First team attack

QC Bryce Young, Alabama
RB Bigsby Reservoir, Auburn
RB Chris Rodriguez Jr., Kentucky
PA Jahmyr Gibbs, Alabama
WR Cedric Tillman, Tennessee
WR Kayshon Boutte, LSU
AND Brock Bowers, Georgia
VS Ricky Stromberg, Arkansas
LO Layden Robinson, Texas A&M
LO Nick Broeker, Ole Miss
LO Broderick Jones, Georgia
LO Emil Ekiyor Jr., Alabama

First team defense

DL Jalen Carter, Georgia
DL Derick Hall, Auburn
DL Byron Young, Alabama
DL Byron Young, Tennessee
KG Will Anderson Jr., Alabama
KG Nolan Smith, Georgia
KG Henry To’o To’o, Alabama
KG Bumper Pool, Arkansas
BC Kelee Ringo, Georgia
BC Cam Smith, South Carolina
S Battle of Jordan, Alabama
S Antonio Johnson, Texas A&M

First team specialists

K Harrison Mevis, Mo.
P Nik Constantinou, Texas A&M
KR Lideatrick Griffin, Mississippi State
PR Ainias Smith, Texas A&M

Second team attack

QC Hendon Hooker, Tennessee
RB Devon Achane, Texas A&M
RB Kenny McIntosh, Georgia
PA Ainias Smith, Texas A&M
WR Jermaine Burton, Alabama
WR Josh Vann, South Carolina
AND Jaheim Bell, South Carolina
VS Sedrick Van Pran, Georgia
LO Javon Foster, Mo.
LO Kenneth Horsey, Kentucky
LO O’Cyrus Torrence, Florida
LO Jeremy James, Ole Miss

Second team defense

DL Mason Smith, LSU
DL Ali Gaye, LSU
DL Isaiah McGuire, Mo.
DL Wooden Colby, Auburn
KG Brenton Cox Jr., Florida
KG BJ Ojulari, LSU
KG Dallas Turner, Alabama
KG JJ Weaver, Kentucky
KG Jeremy Banks, Tennessee
BC Eli Ricks, Alabama
BC Emmanuel Forbes, State of Mississippi
S Jalen Catalon, Arkansas
S Christopher Smith, Georgia

Second team specialists

K Will Reichard, Alabama
P Oscar Chapman, Auburn
K. R. Jahmyr Gibbs, Alabama
PR Kearis Jackson, Georgia

Third team attack

QC KJ Jefferson, Arkansas
RB Zach Evans, Ole Miss
RB John Emery, LSU
PA Jo’quavious Marks, Mississippi State
WR Jonathan Mingo, Ole Miss
WR Jaden Walley, Mississippi State
AND Cameron Latu, Alabama
VS Bryce Foster, Texas A&M
LO Keiondre Jones, Auburn
LO Fine Limmer, Arkansas
LO Jerome Carvin, Tennessee
LO Warren McClendon, Georgia
LO Eli Cox, Kentucky

Third team defense

DL Gervon Dexter, Florida
DL Zacch Pickens, South Carolina
DL Tyler Baron, Tennessee
DL McKinley Jackson, Texas A&M
KG Anfernee Orji, Vanderbilt
KG Owen Pappoe, Auburn
KG Ventrell Miller, Florida
KG Robert Beal, Georgia
BC Kool-Aid McKinstry, Alabama
BC Jason Marshall, Florida
BC Tyreek Chappell, Texas A&M
S Demani Richardson, Texas A&M
S AJ Finley, Ole Miss
S Martez Manuel, Missouri

Third team specialists

K Anders CarlsonAuburn
P Paxton Brooks, Tennessee
KR Juju McDowell, South Carolina
PR Tayvion Robinson, Kentucky

Fourth Team Attack

QC Will Rogers, Mississippi State
RB Rocket Sanders, Arkansas
RB Little Jabari, TN
PA Dakereon Joyner, South Carolina
WR Tayvion Robinson, Kentucky
WR Tauskie Dove, Missouri
WR Adonai Mitchell, Georgia
AND John Samuel Shenker, Auburn
AND Arik Gilbert, Georgia
VS La Quinston Sharp, Mississippi State
LO Bradley AshmoreVanderbilt
LO Jovaughn Gwyn, South Carolina
LO Ruben Fatheree II, Texas A&M
LO Cameron Wire, LSU
LO Javion Cohen, Alabama
LO Darnell Wright, Tennessee
LO Hyrin White, Mo.

Fourth Team Defense

DL Justin Rogers, Kentucky
DL Cedric Johnson, Ole Miss
DL Jaden Crumedy, Mississippi State
DL DJ Dale, Alabama
DL Jaquelin Roy, LSU
KG Jett Johnson, Mississippi State
KG Drew Sanders, Arkansas
KG Tyrus Wheat, Mississippi State
KG DeAndre Square, Kentucky
KG Micah Baskerville, LSU
BC Deantre Prince, Ole Miss
BC Kris Abrams-Draine, Missouri
comics Brian Branch, Alabama
comics Rashad Torrence II, Florida
S Tyrell Ajian, Kentucky
S Flowers of Trevon, Tennessee
S Jay Ward, LSU
S From Marcco Hellams, Alabama
S Zion Puckett, Auburn

Fourth Team Specialists

K Cam Little, Arkansas
P Kai Kroeger, South Carolina
KR Devon Achane, Texas A&M
PR Josh Vann, South Carolina

About Harold Shirley

Check Also

BankPlus and FHLB Dallas provide home repair grant to Mississippi woman

Enter Wall Street with StreetInsider Premium. Claim your one week free trial here. The Special …